Terrific Two

Terrific Two

We went around Galleria the other night and took Isaiah to Toys R Us. He was so overwhelmed with vast choices of different toys around him. He wanted to touch everything as we explored every aisle there was. We didn’t plan to buy anything for him and I’m glad we stuck to that plan. I’m even gladder that Isaiah didn’t act up when we said no to something we felt he really wanted to get but just easily let go when we said ‘let’s go.’

I realized Isaiah is already two… then I remember the ‘terrible two’,

When he was barely a year old, there were several people who warned us about the Terrible Two Stage  where the toddler is just too much to handle because of frequent mood changes and temper tantrums. While there are books that says it’s a normal stage in child’s development, I still thought that it’s not so good to expect that my child is going to be terrible just because. I mean, yes, I heeded the warning but hoping and praying that it’s not the same for every child.

I am not perfect nor an expert in child rearing. I’m not even in any position to give expert parental advice but I learn as I go and I learn from the experts. There are several people I look up to in child rearing and a couple of them is my good friend, Lynn Castillo, and her friend, Jenn Punzalan. Lynn is not so old of a mom, she’s my contemporary but she’s ahead of me in terms of mothering her 2 wonderful kids and I admire how she and her husband Noy instill good values to their kids. In fact, I learned ‘Babywising’ from her.

Going back, I so admire how Isaiah behaves so well. He’s not perfect either, he’s like any other typical kid that likes to play a lot and cries at times but the bottom line is that he listens to us when we tell him something. And it just makes us feel so good that he’s growing up confident knowing how much he is loved.

Thank you Lord that I have a ‘Terrific Two’ instead.

One thought on “Terrific Two

Leave a Reply

