Life Beyond Thirty

Life Beyond Thirty

When I was young, I remember how people in their 30’s responded when asked of their age. Few of those answers I recall were: “ Secret”, “Why do you ask?”, “My age is beyond the calendar days.”

In my very young mind, I thought indeed that being on your 30’s is really old. Not until I reached the 3rd decade of my existence.

My life is not perfect but there were  significant events in the past 30 years that I am blessed with: At 25, I met my husband. At 27 I got engaged then got married when I was 28. I got pregnant when I was 29 and by the time I became a mother I was a few days nearing my 30th birthday. The years before all these things happened, God was busy preparing and shaping me to be the person that I am right now. And mind you, those were the hardest of all times.

And so I AM HAPPY TO BE 32.

And though at 32 a few wrinkles are circling my eyes, I’m glad that my vision is still as good as 20/20. I am not too happy about that wrinkles but I am not too vain to be bothered by it either. There are few things I sometimes can’t recall in my 32 years but my memory never fails to remind me of all the good things that happened to me. I may have not experience all the luxuries in the world but I’m thankful I have experienced the sweetest things the world has to offer.

My heart is filled with gratitude for so many great things that God has showered me with; my husband and my son who are the constant source of all the sweetness in the world. My loving parents and the best in-laws…I couldn’t ask for more. Friends and random people who always inspire me to do good and to be better.

I am so looking forward to what lies ahead of me. Not only because it’s New Year but also because that optimism clings on a much stronger foundation.

Thank you Lord for my life. Thank you for loving me unconditionally.

Leave a Reply

